Wright Wins Players' Player Of Year

Last updated : 21 April 2009 By Jessica Porter

The dinner held at Trinity Park with 250 guests included former Town stars and included a special tribute to former Town boss Sir Bobby Robson, with messages of support sent from current Newcastle manager Alan Shearer and Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson.

In addition to keeper Wright winning the players vote, defender David Wright was voted as the boxholders player of the year, Pim Balkestein as most improved player, Connor Wickham as academy player of the year and Jon Walters was awarded goal of the year for his strike against QPR at Loftus Road.

The supporters player of the year vote will take place ahead of the last home game of the season against Coventry City on 3rd May at Portman Road and online. Further details on voting and the presentation evening at Greshams Sports and Social Club can be found on the Official Supporters Club Website.

Click here to see a list of former winners of the Supporters Player of the Year Vote since 1973.